Hinkle Bags WSOPC Bling at Council Bluffs

Blair Hinkle
2010 WSOPC Horseshoe Council Bluffs main event champion Blair Hinkle.

Blair Hinkle added a World Series of Poker Circuit ring to his growing jewelry collection Tuesday, winning the WSOPC Horseshoe Council Bluffs main event.

Hinkle, who burst onto the live tournament scene with a deep run in the 2008 L.A. Poker Classic before winning a WSOP bracelet later that year, outlasted a field of 255 players in the $1,500 tournament to secure the $88,553 first-place prize.

Although he entered the final as the chip leader, collecting the cash, gold ring, $10,000 buy-in into next year’s WSOP main event and a seat in the million-dollar Circuit National Championship in Las Vegas next year was no easy task for the 24-year old chemical engineering and business finance student turned poker pro from Kansas City, Missouri.

The final table included no less than 2009 Circuit Player of the Year Dwyte Pilgrim, coming off a win in a $200 No-Limit Hold’em prelim in Iowa earlier in the series.

Pilgrim busted third for $39,531 when he ran top pair into a Hinkle straight.

The final day of the event started with 16 players and Pilgrim in the lead. But by the time 2005 WSOP Main Event 13th place finisher Bernard Lee had bubbled the final nine, Hinkle was in charge.

College roommates with 2007 WSOP bracelet winner James Mackey, Hinkle now has close to $1.2 million in career tournament earnings. His brother Grant Hinkle also won a WSOP bracelet in 2008.

With 255 players, WSOPC Council Bluffs had a $361,440 prize pool. Total entries for the entire series of events was 4,056, a 12% increase over the last Circuit series in Iowa.

Doug “Rico” Carli cashed for the 44th time on the WSOPC, extending his lead as the player with the most Circuit cashes. He now has twice as many as anyone else.

Here’s how the final table finished:

1. Blair Hinkle                        $88,553

2. Shiva Dudani                     $54,715

3. Dwyte Pilgrim                    $39,531

4. Matt Lawrence                  $29,092

5. Charles Moore                   $21,795

6. Jack Do                             $16,608

7. John Wakeen                    $12,867

8. Daniel Biddle                     $10,131

9. Kevin Calenzo                    $8,103

Best Poker Sites - Editor`s Pick

Latest Blogs »