Hellmuth Runner-Up Again on WSOP Day 21

Phil Hellmuth
Hellmuth takes the lead in the 2011 Player of the Year race.

Phil Hellmuth finishes runner-up for the second time this summer as Eric Rodawig and Kirk Caldwell win their first WSOP bracelets.

We've got the details on that plus action from the other two ongoing events on Day 21 of the 2011 World Series of Poker.

Event 32 - $1,500 No-Limit Hold’em – Winner

Kirk Caldwell outlasted a massive 2,828-person field to win his first bracelet in this $1,500 No-Limit event.

Caldwell earned $668,276 and the right to call himself a WSOP bracelet winner.

Other notables who cashed in this event include Adam Geyer in 13th for just over $30,000, and Facebook Vice President Chamath Palihapitiya who finished in 15th.

Click here to read the news story we did with Chamath Palihapitiya earlier this evening.

Event 33 - $10,000 Seven-Card Stud Hi-Low – Winner

Phil Hellmuth made it all the way to heads-up in a $10k non-Hold’em event for the second time this summer but, just like the first, he fell one spot short of his 12th WSOP bracelet.

As a consolation prize Hellmuth does move into the number one spot in the 2011 Player of the Year race.

Eric Rodawig is the man who denied Hellmuth his prize today, claiming the bracelet and the $442,183 for himself.

Rodawig was one of the few unknowns deep in this event, outlasting the likes of John Racener, Ted Forrest, David Benyamine, Joe Tehan and Ali Eslami at the final table.

Phil Hellmuth still holds the record for most WSOP bracelets but it’s still by a margin of just one.

Event 34 - $1,000 No-Limit Hold’em – Day 2

27 players are left in the latest $1,000 donkament, down from the original 3,144 who entered just a few days ago.

Michael Souza is in the lead with 650,000, followed by Robbie Verspui and Jeremy Kottler.

Over $488,000 is waiting for the eventual winner of this event which is scheduled to be decided tomorrow.

Event 35 - $5,000 Pot-Limit Omaha/ Six Handed

Another new event for the 2011 WSOP, this $5k shorthanded PLO tournament drew a respectable field of 507.

A total prize pool of $2,382,900 was created with $619,575 reserved for the first place.

As expected the field was extremely pro-heavy, and the leaderboard at the end of Day 2 reflects exactly that.

Vanessa Selbst finished the day in the number one spot with just over 250,000 chips, followed closely by Erick Lindgren, Shaun Deeb and Mike McDonald.

Just over 100 players made it through the day, all of whom will return tomorrow to play down to the final table.

Notable players who failed to make it through the day include Annette Obrestad, John Juanda, Tom Marchese, Daniel Negreanu and ElkY Grospellier.

Best Poker Sites - Editor`s Pick

Latest Blogs »