Hansen Busts Ivey to Set $100k Final Eight

Gus Hansen
Gus Hansen.

Just eight players remain in the 2012 Aussie Millions $100k High Roller event and they are led by Gus Hansen, who busted the dangerous Phil Ivey to end the day and set the final table.

Hansen will return for Day 2 and the play down to the title with 567,000 chips for a slight edge on new AsianLogic pro Joe Hachem, who will come back with 538,500.

Hansen ended play for the night and took the chip lead when he flopped two pair with 7-6 and it held to beat Ivey's 88 with an up-and-down straight draw.

Outside of a recent trip to Macau, Ivey has been on hiatus from tournament poker since Black Friday so it set the railbirds buzzing when he strolled into the tournament area an hour late and sat down to play.

Unfortunately for Ivey, who was very active and seemed to have little rust on his game, his tournament will end without a payout

Tough Final Eight, but Not Expected Final Eight

Hansen and Hachem lead a very tough final eight as expected, but maybe not with exactly the expected players.

Dan Smith, Mikhail Smirnov, Sorel Mizzi, Tony G, Nam Le and Sam Trickett will join them tomorrow on the final table with several high-profile players on the rail.

Phil Ivey
Down goes Ivey.

Jason Mercier, who busted in 10th, is one of them along with perennial high roller final-tablist Erik Seidel, who went out in 11th.

Bustouts Fast and Furious

Due to the fast structure, several of the 22 runners who started the event were gone early.

Mike "SirWatts" Watson, Tom Dwan, Dan Shak, Masa Kagawa, Tony Bloom and Jonathan Karamilikis were all sent home before the dinner break.

Following shortly after were Daniel Alaei, Daniel Negreanu, Tobias Renkemeier, Dan "jungleman12" Cates and JC Tran.

The 22 total runners was well short of the 38 players who entered the event in 2011.

The four players who cash will split just over $2 million AUD between them with $1,012,000 to the winner.

Second-place will take $616,000, third $330,000 and fourth $242,000.

Check back tomorrow for a recap of the final.

The final eight and their chip counts:

1. Gus Hansen 567,000

2. Joe Hachem 538,500

3. Dan Smith 346,500

4. Mikhail Smirnov 265,000

5. Sorel Mizzi 228,500

6. Tony G 102,000

7. Nam Le 79,500

8. Sam Trickett 73,000

Click through to our blog for a photo essay on the high roller event and follow the action in the 2012 Aussie Millions main event with our live updates.

Best Poker Sites - Editor`s Pick