Greg Raymer Wins Third HPT Title of the Year

Greg Raymer

Greg “Fossilman” Raymer added to his recent hot streak on the Heartland Poker Tour by winning his third title of the year at HPT Prairie Meadows today.

The 2004 WSOP Main Event champion outlasted over 100 entrants to win the first-place prize of $72,089. Iowa-native Chad Lawson finished in second place for $41k.

The final table also included former HPT Black Rock champion Craig Casino who finished in third place for $26k.

Raymer was fortunate to win as he re-bought a total of five times in the $1,650 main event. The last bullet proved to be enough to beat everyone else, however.

It's been a remarkable four months for Raymer on the HPT.

At the end of September Raymer won HPT St. Louis for $121,973. On July 31, Raymer took down HPT New Mexico for $71k.

With the victory Raymer increased his lead in the HPT Player of the Year race and it will be very difficult for anyone to pass him before the year is over.

Raymer now has 150 points while Gary Lambert is in a distant second place with 83 points.

Below are the final-table payouts for HPT Prairie Meadows:

  • 1. Greg Raymer - $72,089
  • 2. Chad Lawson - $41,771
  • 3. Craig Casino - $26,275
  • 4. Ben Stroh - $22,233
  • 5. Ed Sinnott - $16,978
  • 6. Josh Birkenbeul - $14,526
Best Poker Sites - Editor`s Pick