Get your Phil of poker in the next NHUPC

Phil Hellmuth

If you want to get the attention of poker fans, it certainly doesn't hurt to have the top Phils of the game headlining your tournament.

The NBC National Heads-Up Championship announced the lineup for the fifth annual competition, with Phil Ivey and Phil Hellmuth taking headliner roles along with returning champion Chris "Jesus" Ferguson.

They're not the only big names in the lineup either. The NHUPC will feature 12 former World Series of Poker Main Event champions and some of poker's top all-time money winners.

The list includes:

David Benyamine Jamie Gold Chris Moneymaker
Andy Bloch Clonie Gowen Daniel Negreanu
Chad Brown Barry Greenstein Scotty Nguyen
Doyle Brunson Gavin Griffin David Pham
Johnny Chan Bertrand Grospellier John Pham
Don Cheadle Joe Hachem Greg Raymer
Glen Chorny Gus Hansen Vanessa Rousso
Allen Cunningham Jennifer Harman Ilari Sahamies
Ivan Demidov Phil Hellmuth Huck Seed
Annie Duke Orel Hershiser Vanessa Selbst
Tom Dwan Jeffrey Ishbia (Caesars qualifer) Erik Seidel
Peter Eastgate Phil Ivey Mike Sexton
Eli Elezra John Juanda Gavin Smith
Antonio Esfandiari Gabe Kaplan Jennifer Tilly
Sam Farha Phil Laak J.C. Tran
Chris Ferguson Howard Lederer Kenny Tran
Scott Fischman Erick Lindgren Paul Wasicka
Layne Flack Jonathan Little David Williams
Ted Forrest Mike Matusow Jerry Yang
Brad Garrett Dario Minieri

There will also be a qualifier from Caesars Palace and four online poker qualifiers who will get to face off against the pros.

"We've got a great mix of celebrity participants and top poker pros, including veterans and newcomers, for this year's National Heads-Up Poker Championship," said Jon Miller, NBC Sports executive vice president.

"It's a combustible combination bound to produce the inevitable upsets and compelling action that will excite poker fans everywhere."

The National Heads-Up Poker Championship brings together 64 players in total to compete in a series of heads-up matches. It is a single-elimination, bracket-style tournament format.

The final two players go heads-up for a best-of-three series to determine the winner.

The winner takes home a $500,000 cash prize with second place winning $250,000.

This year the tournament is sponsored by and will take place March 6-8 at the Caesars Palace poker Tournament Room in Las Vegas.

The first round opponents for the brackets will be chosen at random during the tournament Draw Party at PURE Nightclub at Caesars Palace March 5.

Related Article: NBC Heads-Up Poker Championships: Win a free seat


Best Poker Sites - Editor`s Pick