Flowers Blooms at WPT Festa

Randal Flowers
2010 WPT Festa al Lago champ Randal Flowers.

22-year-old Randal Flowers became the youngest two-time World Poker Tour champion in history in Las Vegas Wednesday night.

The North Carolina native went wire-to-wire in the final six to win the 2010 WPT Festa al Lago title and $831,500 first prize.

Flowers became the youngest WPT winner in history when he booked a win at the 2009 WPT Spanish Championship and is now the tour's youngest two-time winner.

Moments after the win, he told PokerListings the second time around feels even sweeter than the first.

"It's much sweeter," he said. "It's double the prize and it's a lot more attention. Hopefully winning number two will help me get some recognition. Nobody even knew I won in Barcelona."

In a topsy-turvy play down to the final table at Bellagio Tuesday, Flowers found himself all in against Michael Benvenuti with king-ten versus pocket kings.

He managed to suck out a straight to survive and pushed into the chip lead heading into the final six.

Flowers said when the cards hit the felt, he could never imagine he'd be raising the Festa trophy a day later.

"It was pretty standard," he said. "There's eight left in a WPT here on Day 5 and I just spew off and run ten-king into kings. I got out of my seat and was ready to go drink the night away. Then I hit the gutshot on the river. I got very lucky to do so.

"I guess that's the name of the game and I was pretty fortunate to win that one."

Although crippled after the hand, Benvenuti held on to make the final six and eventually finished runner-up for $564,200.

Flowers said his plan now was to head back home, celebrate and hope the poker world acknowledges his latest win.

"I just want some poker site to recognize it and sponsor an American guy who's had some success," he said.

335 players entered the event creating a $3,249,500 prize pool.

To see how the final table played out, check out PokerListings' WPT Live Updates.

Here's how the final table finished up:

1 Randal Flowers $831,500

2 Michael Benvenuti $564,200

3 Noah Schwartz $344,968

4 Jason Koon $225,680

5 Andy Frankenberger $161,200

6 Skip Wilson $112,840

Best Poker Sites - Editor`s Pick

Latest Blogs »