Final table set in San Diego

One hundred and eighty-one people came to play, but only nine made it to the final table of the San Diego World Series of Poker Circuit (WSOPC) main event. Peter Feldman is the chip leader, and several other experienced pros such as Gavin Griffin, Erik Cajelais and Gavin Smith are still in contention.

It looks like it will be a gruelling battle for the $280,859 first prize at the Harrah's Rincon in San Diego. Chip leader Feldman will be a tough nut for his opponents to crack, since he knows what winning a WSOPC tournament is all about.

In May 2006, Feldman defeated Gavin Smith heads-up to claim the WSOPC New Orleans title. If Smith is looking for revenge, he will have to make a great comeback from his position as one of the short-stacks of the final table.

Erik Cajelais, who upset Phil Gordon with some serious trash-talk during Day 1 (read about it in Owen Laukkanen's Blog ), kept a lower profile on the second day and played some excellent poker. He is in third place.

Big names eliminated during Day 2 included Joe Sebok, Barry Greenstein, and Erick Lindgren.

Everything else you need to know about the San Diego WSOPC, including live updates and exclusive interviews, can be found in's Live Tournament Section.

The final table will start at 12 p.m. (PST). These are the standings:

SeatNameChip Count
1 Jerry Renfroe $19,000
2 Shane "Shaniac" Schleger $205,500
3 Danny Wong $244,500
4 Gavin Griffin $390,500
5 Erik Cajelais $270,500
6 Peter Feldman $444,000
7 Davidson Matthew $119,500
8 Gavin Smith $71,000
9 Yoon Kim $45,500

Related Article: Furious Phil Gordon Knocked Out of Rincon

Best Poker Sites - Editor`s Pick

Latest Blogs »