European Poker Awards names De Wolfe player of the year

Roland De Wolfe

Roland De Wolfe is on a roll this year. First a European Poker Tour win that made him the first-ever player to become both an EPT and World Poker Tour champion, and now he's the European Poker Awards Player of the Year.

The European Poker Awards took place during the main event of the European Finals of Poker (EFOP) at the Aviation Club de France in Paris. Five titles were doled out during the ceremony.

Roland De Wolfe received Player of the Year for the best all-around performance for the year. His year included the EPT Dublin win, a third place finish at the WPT Five Diamond Classic Main Event in April and a third place WSOP event finish as well as other final tables and cashes.

The other awards given out were for rookie of the year, most notable tournament performance of the year, casino staff person of the year and a lifetime achievement award.

Rookie of the year went to Swedish player Mats Iremark. He was the EPT Deauville, France, winner in February, and won the £1,000 No-Limit Texas Hold'em event of the European Poker Championships in London in September.

Victoria Coren took the honor of most notable tournament performance of the year. She became the first woman to win the EPT London main event with her win this year. Fellow Brit, Roy Houghton was the casino staff person of the year for his work opening his membership only, no rake, no fees, card room in London.

The lifetime achievement award went to John Duthie, card shark and television director. He was a major force behind establishing the EPT and getting it televised.

Related Articles:

De Wolfe Hunts Down Win at EPT Dublin
London Native First Woman to Win EPT London

Best Poker Sites - Editor`s Pick

Latest Blogs »