ElkY Wins Seat To WSOP Tournament of Champs

ElkY wins the golden ticket.

Betrand "ElkY" Grospellier beat off competition from eight elite poker players to win the final seat into the 2010 WSOP Tournament of Champions Thursday.

“I want to thank the World Series Of Poker Academy for giving me the chance to win my way into the TOC,” said ElkY after winning the playoff, defeating Michael Mizrachi heads-up.

The single table tournament saw Andy Bloch, Bertrand “ElkY” Grospellier, Gus Hansen, Don Cheadle, Sorel Mizzi, Michael Mizrachi, Liv Boeree, Gavin Smith and Paul Wasicka battle it out for the single seat, but when the smoke cleared, ElkY was the last man standing.

The Tournament of Champions will see 27 players - 20 selected by public voting, 5 automatic entries and two sponsor-exemption entries - face off to compete for a $1 million prize pool.

The 20 players eligable for public choice include 521 WSOP bracelet holders whilst the five automatic entries already selected are the three previous WSOP Tournament of Champions winners (Annie Duke, Mike Matusow and Mike Sexton) and the reigning WSOP and WSOPE Main Event Champions (Joe Cada and Barry Shulman.)

"The public and player response to the WSOP Academy tournament was far greater than we originally expected and certainly shows that the Tournament of Champions is the All-Star Game of poker,” said Jeff Goldenberg, CEO of the WSOP Academy.

“We saw some incredible poker which is going to produce amazing training experiences for our online students.”

wsop 2010 banner 33

Best Poker Sites - Editor`s Pick