Duke, Greenstein, Juanda Head New Hall of Fame Nominees

Barry Greenstein

After an extensive public nomination process on WSOP.com and a final vetting by the Hall of Fame Governing Council, 10 players have now been put forth as nominees for induction into the Poker Hall of Fame in 2011.

Those 10 players are:

  • Barry Greenstein
  • Scotty Nguyen
  • John Juanda
  • Huckleberry Seed
  • Jennifer Harman-Traniello
  • Annie Duke
  • Linda Johnson
  • Marcel Luske
  • Jack McClelland
  • Tom McEvoy

Thirty-five votes will be cast between now and then to pick the inductees for 2011 with 18 votes from the current living members of the Hall of Fame and 17 from a panel of media experts.

Two players maximum will be picked.

The 2011 induction ceremony will take place as part of the World Series of Poker Main Event final-table festivities held at the Rio in Las Vegas on November 8.

To be considered for the Poker Hall of Fame players must meet the following criteria:

  • Must have played against acknowledged top competition
  • Be at least 40 years old at time of nomination [known as the “Chip Reese” rule]
  • Played for high stakes
  • Played consistently well and gained the respect of peers
  • Stood the test of time

Erik Seidel and Dan Harrington were the two nominees voted in last year. Harman-Traniello, Nguyen, McEvoy and Johnson were all nominated but fell short of being inducted in the final vote.

2010 nominees Daniel Negreanu, Chris "Jesus” Ferguson and Phil Ivey were not re-nominated this year.

Among the 40 players already enshrined in the Poker Hall of Fame are Phil Hellmuth, Doyle Brunson, Mike Sexton, Johnny Chan, Johnny Moss, Chip Reese, Amarillo Slim, Stu Ungar, T.J. Cloutier, Barbara Enright and Wild Bill Hickock.

Best Poker Sites - Editor`s Pick

Latest Blogs »