Dion Leads, Ivey Lurking in Final 12 at Aussie Millions

Phil Ivey
Phil Ivey

Online pro Yann Dion took over the chip lead on Day 4 of the 2012 Aussie Millions while Phil Ivey finished as the short stack.

It was another fast day at the Aussie Millions as it took only four and a half hours of play to go from 26 players down to 12.

Day 4 was not a good one for Ivey as the former Full Tilt pro was bleeding chips.

Ivey had the misfortune of losing set over set to Karim Jomeen and never really seemed to fully recover.

He eventually finished with 699,000 chips, which puts him in last place. On the plus side the iconic pro still has 34 big blinds to work with so he could still make a late charge to the final table.

It was the opposite for Yann Dion, who crushes online poker as yadio. Dion caught fire in the last level of play and shot up to 2.6 million in chips.

Mohamad Kowssarie, who used to play online as Fast_Freddie and TerrorOfSweden, also had an exceptional day. The Swede won several massive pots and built a stack of 2.2 million chips.

As far as interestingly storylines Lee Nelson would certainly be up there. The 2006 Aussie Millions winner finished with 1.6 million chips and will have shot at becoming the first repeat champ.

Also still in play is recent WSOP bracelet winner Dan Idema who built a stack of 1.8 million.

To say play has been swingy at the 2012 Aussie Millions would be an understatement.

Matt Turk, who won a tournament-leading 2.6 million-chip pot against Jason Koon to end Day 3, was one of the final eliminations on Day 4.

Turk was bleeding chips all day and eventually shipped his last 570,000 chips with pocket tens and got called down by Yann Dion who had pocket kings.

Day 5 begins tomorrow at 12:30 p.m. It's unclear how many eliminations will be needed to set the final table as the usual number of players at the final table seven but in years past they’ve stopped at eight to accommodate star players such as Patrik Antonius and Barny Boatman.

Here’s a complete look at the chip counts at the end of play:

Yann Dionn – 2,670,000
Bjorn Li – 2,471,000
Mohamad Kowssarie – 2,300,000
Karim Jomeen – 2,063,000
Dan Idema – 1,840,000
Lee Nelson – 1,651,000
Patrick Healy – 1,565,000
Janis Lesinkskis – 1,501,000
Kenneth Wong – 1,498,000
Oliver Speidel – 809,000
Mile Krstanoski – 755,000
Phil Ivey – 699,000

Best Poker Sites - Editor`s Pick