Chainsaw Massacres Bayou Poker Challenge

Allen “Chainsaw” Kessler went on a rampage at the 2009 Bayou Poker Challenge Championship this weekend.

The Chainsaw outlasted 79 players to win a first place prize of $70,976 at Harrah’s New Orleans. Kessler also received a $10,000 seat to the 2010 WSOP Main Event.

Well-known for whining about bad beats and criticizing tournament structures, Kessler had nothing but good things to say about the Bayou Poker Challenge.

“I really like supporting these events,” he said. “These are great structures. It’s one of the best tournaments I’ve seen for this buy-in amount.”

The final table included Justin “Lockdowntex” Allen, the defending Bayou Poker Challenge champion, and consistent WSOPC player Ben “The Destroyer” Mintz, but no one could figure out a way to beat Kessler. Ed Corrado was the final player to fall as Kessler beat him heads-up for the Bayou title.

Kessler has been mainstay of the poker tournament circuit for the last decade and with this latest victory has amassed over $1.5 million in tournament earnings with notable wins on the World Series of Poker Circuit and the United States Poker Championship.

This is the fourth year Harrah's New Orleans has hosted the Bayou Poker Challenge, now one of the South’s largest and most successful tournament series. It has awarded over $8 million in prize money over the course of its existence.

This year, the Bayou Poker Challenge offered 15-events, including ladies and seniors tournaments.

Here are the complete final table payouts for the $3,000 buy-in 2009 Bayou Poker Challenge Championship:

1. Allen "Chainsaw" Kessler - $70,976
2. Ed Corrado - $44,360
3. Moutray McLaren - $28,279
4. Jim McBride - $19,262
5. Michael "Car Wash" Schneider - $16,080
6. Justin "Lockdowntex" Allen - $13,308
7. Ben "The Destroyer" Mintz - $11,090
8. Will "The Monkey" Souther - $9,426
9. Phil Hall - $8,317

Best Poker Sites - Editor`s Pick

Latest Blogs »