Billirakis Wins, Dwan Stalking in Split Event on WSOPE Day 6

The final table
American Steve Billirakis scored his second WSOP bracelet tonight in Cannes.

Steve Billirakis wins his second bracelet, the WSOPE introduces a brand new tournament structure and a star-studded Shootout final table headline Day 6 at the 2011 World Series of Poker Europe.

Read on for details from a big day on location in Cannes.

Steve “MrSmokey1” Billirakis Wins Event #3, €5,300 Pot-Limit Omaha

Once the youngest bracelet winner ever at the WSOP, Steve Billirakis can now add a new title to his resume: multiple WSOP bracelet winner.

Earning his first win in 2007 at the age of 21, Billirakis used the experience he’s picked up in the last four years wisely to dominate a tough and aggressive final table today in Cannes.

Coming into the day second in chips to Titan Poker pro Sam Trickett, Billirakis was one of the favorites to win it but he still had a lot of work to do to get past a talent-heavy lineup including 2011 WSOP November Niner Eoghan O’Dea, Swedish pro Ramzi Jelassi, Canadian Sam Chartier and German Erich Kollman.

In the end Billirakis finished most of the field off by himself as he busted Jerome Bradpiece in fifth, Jelassi in third and finally Italian Michele di Lauro heads-up to seal the deal.

Billirakis takes home €238,140 to add to his already $2 million+ in live poker tournament earnings.

ElkY, Wade, O’Dwyer and Patel Lead Stacked Final 10 in €3,200 No-Limit Hold'em Shootout

In another twist in formats here in Cannes, 30 players returned to the Casino Barriere today to battle three-handed and set the final table for Event #4, the €3,200 No-Limit Hold'em Shootout.

Steve O'Dwyer
Steve O'Dwyer makes the final table of the €3k Shootout, fresh off a 2nd-place finish at EPT London.

To say the 10 players who advanced to tomorrow’s ten-handed final table are some of the best players in the world would be an understatement.

Leading the way are WSOP bracelet winners Bertrand “ElkY” Grospellier and James Dempsey, WPT title holders Michael Watson and Richard Toth and 2010 Card Player Online Player of the Year Taylor Paur.

Joining them are online high-stakes icon Emil “Whitelime” Patel, British pro and UKIPT title holder Max Silver, three-time WSOP final-tablist Tristan “Cre8ive” Wade, 2011 EPT London runner-up Steve O’Dwyer and 18th-place finisher in the 2007 Main Event John “texduke” Armbrust.

Among the big-name players to win their tables yesterday but not survive the day today were Terrance Chan, Vanessa Selbst, Chad Brown, Freddy Deeb, 2011 WSOP November Niner Anton Makievskyi, Tobias Renkenmeier and Ryan “G0lfa” D’Angelo.

D’Angelo perhaps had the most frustrating of all the eliminations, getting it in good several times against O’Dwyer and failing to hold.

The final table gets underway at 3 p.m. tomorrow. Here are the chip stacks going in:

  • 1 - James Dempsey - 230,000 
  • 2 - Richard Toth - 231,000 
  • 3 - Taylor Paur - 233,000 
  • 4- Tristan Wade - 238,000 
  • 5 - Max Silver - 246,000 
  • 6 - John Armbrust - 232,000 
  • 7 - Emil Patel - 237,000 
  • 8 - Steve O'Dwyer - 231,000 
  • 9 - Michael Watson - 245,000 
  • 10 - Bertrand Grospellier - 235,000
Erik Seidel
Leading all-time live tournament earner Erik Seidel made it through to Day 2 of the €10k Split event.

Bejedal Leads, Durrrr Stalking on Day 1 of €10k No-Limit Hold’em (Split-Format)

The €10k No-Limit Hold’em Split Format event represents a brand new tournament structure, introduced here in Cannes to a 125-strong field of poker’s biggest names.

Leading that group when play was halted at the end of the night is Sweden’s Dennis Bejedal, who finished with 157,000 in chips.

Close on the chip leader’s heels are big names like Michael MizrachiTom Dwan, Freddy Deeb and Erik Seidel.

Mizrachi sits in second with 140,300 in chips while durrrr sits in third with 127,400.

53 players were eliminated on Day 1, including Barry Greenstein, Fabrice Soulier, Eugene Katchalov, James Bord and McLean Karr. 72 players will return tomorrow to play down to the money, which kicks in at 16.

The prize pool in this event totals €1.2 million with €336,008 reserved for first.

Tomorrow will see the remaining field play six-handed down to the final 16 before redrawing for matches in the 16-player heads-up bracket.

For more information on the Split Format structure, click through here for Tournament Director Jack Effel’s explanation.

Best Poker Sites - Editor`s Pick

Latest Blogs »