APPT Crowns First Female Champ

Cebu winner
2010 APPT Cebu winner Young-shin Im.

The PokerStars Asia Pacific Poker Tour crowned its first female champion Tuesday.

Korean Young-shin Im took down the APPT Cebu main event for PHP 5,810,000 (approx. USD $132,500) after qualifying for the event through a $22 3x Turbo satellite on PokerStars.

The win marked Young-shin Im's fifth cash on the APPT in the last year and a half with her previous deepest run being a 15th-place finish in the 2009 APPT Macau main event.

Michael Fabiano from Australia finished runner-up after Young-shin Im's partner of ten years, Kim Gap Young, took third place.

Considering their relationship, precautions were taken to prevent collusion at the final table.

The APPT Cebu main event drew 236 players to the Shangri-La Mactan Resort in the Filipino Island paradise.

A total of 23 players also entered the PHP 200,000 High Roller event in Cebu. Russian Anton Pozdnyakov booked the win and PHP 1,605,000 (approx. USD $36,500) score there.

Here's how the APPT Cebu main event final finished up:

1 Young-shin Im PHP 5,810,000

2 Michael Fabiano PHP 3,660,000

3 Kim Gap Young PHP 2,045,000

4 Mikael Rosen PHP 1,560,000

5 Daren Yoon PHP 1,290,000

6 Basilios Diakokomninos PHP 1,025,000

7 Jukka Juvonen PHP 805,000

8 Richard En PHP 645,000

9 Raymond Lapitan PHP 485,480

Here's how the APPT Cebu High Roller final table finished:

1 Anton Pozdnyakov PHP 1,605,000

2 Jarred Graham PHP 963,000

3 Kut Fu Chow PHP 642,000

4 Melvin Matibag PHP 481,000

5 Justin Tazelaar PHP 320,920

Best Poker Sites - Editor`s Pick

Latest Blogs »