2010 WSOPE: The Iceman Wins his Fifth

WSOPE £5,250 Pot-Limit Omaha champion Jeffrey "The Iceman" Lisandro.

Jeffrey Lisandro cemented his status as one of the greats of the game, winning his fifth World Series of Poker bracelet in London early Sunday morning.

The 2009 WSOP Player of the Year took down the 2010 WSOP Europe’s £5,250 Pot-Limit Omaha event defeating a final table full of stars inside London’s Casino at the Empire to collect the £159,514 first-place prize.

“I’m exhausted,” Lisandro said moments after the win, refusing to answer any further questions.

The enigmatic Aussie, who also claims Italy as his home country, won three Stud bracelets in 2009 en route to POY honors. He won his first bracelet in Stud a year earlier.

After a rather late night Friday in what was to be the play down to the final table, play began with 15 left Saturday.

But before long it was down to a final table that included Lisandro, 2006 WSOP Player of the Year Jeff Madsen, UK veteran and WSOP bracelet winner Willie Tann, 2010 November Niner John Racener, Hit Squad member Karl Mahrenholz, PartyPoker Pro Felipe Ramos, up-and-comer Joe Serock, rising UK star Jeff Kimber and, making his record sixth WSOPE cash, Swedish legend and two-time WSOP bracelet winner Chris Bjorin.

Bjorin’s run for a third bracelet ended rather quickly in ninth before Kimber, Ramos and Mahrenholz went quietly into the night.

Racener will have another shot at a bracelet come November, but just missed here bowing out fifth.

Four handed, Lisandro held the chip lead until both Serock and Madsen doubled through him.

Serock busted Madsen a few hands later and assumed the chip lead three handed.

Tann then butted heads with Lisandro, busting third in his second final table at the 2010 WSOPE in just the first two events.

Serock had the lead heads up, but Lisandro soon doubled through him to snatch it and push on to victory.

The event drew 120 players creating a £600,000 prize pool from which 18 places were paid.

Below are the final table payouts:

1 Jeff Lisandro £159,514

2 Joe Serock £98,262

3 Willie Tann V71,184

4 Jeff Madsen £52,542

5 John Racener £39,486

6 Karl Mahrenholz £30,192

7 Felipe Ramos £23,478

8 Jeff Kimber £18,564

9 Chris Bjorin £14,916

Best Poker Sites - Editor`s Pick

Latest Blogs »