2008 WSOP Day 17: Limit champs could go far

Johnny Chan
Chan won the Limit event back in 1985 and went on to win the Main Event in 1987 and 1988.

As the World Series of Poker Championship Series rolls on in Las Vegas this Sunday, Limit Hold'em is the next World Championship title up for grabs.

The Limit title has been a harbinger of good things for the world's best players and may once again be a predictor of which players will do well in the William Thorsson
Thor Hansen
David Gee
Thomas Koral
Ray Dekharghani
Don Todd
Gabriel Nassif
Max Casal

The 2007 WSOP was the third that Getzoyan played in and he'll likely be back this year to defend his title.

So will Getzoyan win back-to-back? Will Chan re-establish himself as one of the world's greatest poker threats? Or will Negreanu continue to roll?

If history repeats itself, whoever wins will be a force to reckon with in tournaments to come.

The World Championship Series winners and runners-up thus far in the 2008 WSOP are as follows:

  • Pot-Limit Hold'em: Nenad Medic (winner), Andy Bloch (runner-up)
  • Mixed Event: Anthony Rivera (winner), James Mackey (runner-up)
  • Seven-Card Stud: Eric Brooks (winner), Fu Wong (runner-up)
Check out all the action in the Live Tournaments section when the cards hit the air at 5 p.m.

Best Poker Sites - Editor`s Pick

Latest Blogs »