2008 APC guarantees $1 million first prize

A School of Fish

Already becoming one of the most prominent stops on the yearly poker tournament circuit, the Aruba Poker Classic promises to get even better in 2008.

The 2008 Aruba Poker Classic will start on Sept. 27 and run for a week before it crowns its champion on Oct. 4. A guaranteed first-place prize of $1 million means this year's event will be a standout, even among the other prestigious tournaments held in the APC's seven-year history.

"We're heading back to Aruba for the biggest poker celebration of the decade," said George MacLean, spokesman for Freddy Deeb, Eric Brenes, Erik Lindgren and Juha Helppi.

The field generally sees a strong infusion of high-profile celebrities too, both from the poker arena and from the entertainment world. Phil Hellmuth, Jennifer Tilly, Phil Laak and Annie Duke have all appeared at Aruba and last year Scott Ian, the guitarist from Anthrax and a confirmed poker junkie, joined the crowd.

MacLean notes that several Hollywood celebrities have already confirmed their intention to attend the 2008 Aruba Poker Classic, but no names have been revealed yet.

Qualifiers for the 2008 Aruba Poker Classic will begin online in early January 2008. These will be hotly contested tournaments. If you play your cards right, you could be sitting in the sands of the Caribbean - or, if you're really lucky, at the final table - in fall of 2008!

Related Articles:

Best Poker Sites - Editor`s Pick

Latest Blogs »